It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are online resources (textbooks, journal articles, etc.) that are freely accessible and openly licensed. This guide provides information about resources that may be used by faculty members in addition to commercial textbooks. (For more details about the related Textbook Alternative Program and its history at UMaine, visit this news item.)
By visiting the tabs above, you can access:
Open Textbook Resources: Online libraries, databases, and websites that provide access to textbooks that are available for free access, use, and download.
Open Multimedia Education Resources: Online databases and websites that contain multimedia content (interactive materials, quizzes, videos, video lectures) that can be used as course materials.
Many written online materials (scholarly journal articles, trade articles and reports, popular articles, etc.) are openly accessible to students through the databases to which Fogler Library subscribes. These databases are browsable by title or by subject, or searchable through the URSUS catalog. A UMaine login is required to access these databases off-campus.
This collection of open scholarship created by faculty and students at the University of Maine is both searchable and browsable. Note that complete articles may be available here but complete books generally are not.
The Fogler Library catalog includes a searchable list of electronic books and videos; check with your librarian to see if these resources are available for course use. A UMaine login is required to read these books or view these videos off-campus.