Open Educational Resources

Initiated by the California State University system, the Multimedia Educational Learning Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a database that includes open textbooks among its searchable resources.

This program, started by Rice University in 2012, has created more than twenty open online books written and peer reviewed by educators, with an emphasis on creating textbooks for courses that traditionally have a high number of enrolled students.

This is a collection of open textbooks written and peer reviewed by faculty members at the State University of New York.

This textbook library, begun at the University of Minnesota, provides a searchable platform for open online textbooks used by or affiliated with higher education institutions.

The American Society for Engineering Education has created this guide to engineering textbooks that are openly available online.

This British Columbia education organization provides listings of and access to open textbooks for primarily introductory-level popular college courses.

Bookboon, a textbook company situated in Denmark, provides access to approximately 200 open online textbooks dealing with various topics. Note that not all books available on all areas of the website are free; some are "premium" books available only for a price.

This website, created by the University of Texas, provides links to online textbooks and materials for learning languages other than English.

OER Commons, created by nonprofit Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME), is a hub providing access to open textbooks and other educational materials across different academic fields.

Saylor Academy, founded by Michael Saylor, provides access to open textbooks used in its courses, often available for download in multiple formats.

Created by two art historians working for Khan Academy, SmARThistory is an online open interactive art history textbook, with various contributors adding new modules over time.

This online spreadsheet provides access to textbooks related to courses Washington state has selected as transferrable across most higher education institutions.

This project, founded by Wikimedia, provides access to open books written by members of the site. Note that some of the books here are not completed.

Boundless is a company that provided, through their website, open course readings, assessments, and Powerpoint slides for assorted courses. (They have ceased operations but their materials are archived here.)