Open Educational Resources

Khan Academy, begun by Salman Khan as a way to help a family member study math, is a collection of educational readings, videos, and activities across academic fields and dealing with various topics.

This website, managed by the Latin America Northeast Libraries Network, is a repository of openly available online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies.

This website, hosted by George Mason University Libraries, allows you to search multiple OER source websites (Merlot, OpenStax, etc.) and open online resources (Project Gutenberg, HathiTrust, etc.) for a topic or a certain type of content all at once.

This website, created by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), provides access to open course materials from a wide variety of classes. These materials can include video lectures, online textbooks, exams, assignments, problem solving videos, lecture slides, and more. Note that not all textbooks assigned are open textbooks.

This searchable online database created by the California State University System provides access to many types of open online and interactive educational materials.

OER Commons, created by nonprofit Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME), is a hub providing access to material types including data, activities, interactive items, video and audio lectures, and more.

This website, hosted by Washington state community and technical colleges, offers a gateway to open course materials for various introductory courses. Note that the materials themselves are hosted in Google Drive; login is not required for access. Not all textbooks assigned by these courses are open.

This website, hosted by Yale University, provides access to open video lectures, syllabi, suggested readings, problem sets, and more. Note that not all readings assigned are from open textbooks.

This website, created by Penn State, provides access to interactive open modules for various courses.

Skills Commons is a website developed in conjunction with the Department of Labor and California State University (MERLOT) to provide access to open learning materials (syllabi, quizzes, activities, and more) related to the workforce and jobs.

This website, created by students and faculty at UC Davis, is a set of interconnected pages put together to replace traditional textbooks. So far, there are individual areas of the site dedicated to chemistry, biology, business, engineering, Spanish, geosciences, humanities, mathematics, medicine, physics, social sciences, statistics, and workforce. Hover your mouse over "Explore the Libraries" at the top center of the page to find the subject you want, and then click on the link to the subject of your choice.

This website provides access to open educational podcasts created by professors at Oxford University (UK).

Boundless is a company that provided, through their website, open course readings, assessments, and Powerpoint slides for assorted courses. (They have ceased operations but their materials are archived here.)

This site, created and maintained by the Johns Hopkins School for Public Health, provides access to open courseware and course materials for various health-related courses. Note that the textbooks assigned, however, are not always open textbooks. (This website was archived as of February 2022, but much of the information is still available through the Wayback Machine.)