Subject Guides: Hot Topics: Climate Change: Extending Your Research

Recommended Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef covers a number of areas of geology and related disciplines including geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, and paleontology. It indexes over 3,500 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations, maps, and conference proceedings. GeoRef in Process records are also indexed. GeoRef includes the content of the print indexes Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Updated biweekly.
Coverage: 1785+ for North America and 1933+ for the rest of the world.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Remote Access: Available
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Total number of scholarly works on the subject of "global climate change" 2002-2020:

Scholarly Articles

Find scholarly articles by searching our databases and journals

Use our databases to find articles by scholars addressing climate change. Search the databases below to find journal articles on your topic.

Most databases will let you limit to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals and articles, so look for the checkbox (you may need to be in the advanced search).

Data

Datasets

National Centers for Environmental Information
Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
Atmospheric Science Data Center
The Atmospheric Science Data Center (ASDC) at NASA Langley Research Center (link is external) is responsible for the processing, archival, and distribution of NASA Earth science data in the areas of radiation budget, clouds, aerosols, and tropospheric composition.
Climate Model Data Services
NASA’s Climate Data Services (CDS) provide a central location for publishing and accessing large, complex climate model data to benefit the climate science community as well as the broader public.

News Research

Newspapers: Historical and Current

Nexis Uni
Full-text documents from over 5,900 sources, including national and regional newspapers, legal news, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language sources.

Proquest Newsstand
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources including the New York Times (1999 to present), Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.

ProPublica
Independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Freely available online.

Books

Search our catalog for books

Search the library catalog for more books about climate change. In addition to the books that we've suggested, there are many books in our collection that address the many subtopics and issues associated with the earth's climate.

Below, you will find links to our catalog using different subject terms, so you can explore aspects of this subject in much greater depth. In addition, try your own search terms in the catalog search box.

URSUS Catalog

Library of Congress Classification

Books on the topic of climate change may be in a variety of locations throughout the library due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field. Try these subject headings for the potential locations (Need help find them? Check out our map!):

GB -- Geomorphology

GC -- Oceanography

Q -- General Science

QC851-999 Meteorology; Climatology

QD -- Chemistry

QE -- Geology

QH -- Biology; Natural History

QK -- Botany

QL -- Zoology

QR -- Microbiology

RA -- Public Aspects of Medicine

S -- Agriculture (General)

SB -- Plant Culture

SD -- Forestry

SH -- Aquaculture and Fisheries

TA -- Engineering (General and Civil)

TD -- Environmental technology; Sanitary engineering

Useful Research Guides

Librarian

Christopher Clark

he / him

Email Me

Subjects: Animal & Veterinary Science, Biology, Earth & Climate Sciences, Ecology & Environmental Sciences, Food Science & Nutrition, Marine Sciences, Molecular & Biomedical Sciences, Plant & Soil Science, Wildlife, Fisheries, & Conservation Biology