Communication Studies

User friendly online statistics portal where you can search for data and data visualizations on a wide range of current topics, including media, business, finance, politics, and more. Data are pulled from both publicly accessible and proprietary sources.

Mintel publishes over 220 marketing reports in the US every year. Reports include data such as answers to consumer survey questions to identify key demographics or target markets; a comprehensive overview of the market size, including a five year forecast; and brand share, category trends, consumer attitudes and behaviors, and analysis on what’s working, what’s not working, and what’s coming next. Users must read and agree to Mintel's Academic Terms and Conditions before accessing the database. First-time University of Maine users will need to register for an individual account with their UMaine e-mail account.

Polling data from nearly 400,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys, including Gallup polls. Searchable by keyword, polling organization, and date. Covers 1935-present.

Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Research areas include: Center for the People and the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Social and Demographic Trends, Forum on Religion and Public Life, Pew Internet and American Life Project; Hispanic Center, and the Global Attitudes Project.

Journal articles, books, government docs, reports, international agency publications, etc. concerning public affairs worldwide. Search for "public opinion and [topic]" or "foreign public opinion and [topic]" for international polls.

"ANES Time Series studies have been conducted since 1948, typically through in-person interviewing, during years of biennial national elections. Topics cover voting behavior and the elections, together with questions on public opinion and attitudes of the electorate." Currently covers 1948-2008.

Polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media orgs. Recent polls listed on homepage; to browse by topic, use links for Politics and Policy, Business/Economy, or The American Scene on the left. Some info only for subscribers.

Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc. 1973-

In URSUS, 1993-2000, Orono Reference Index HM261 .A463

Annual publication providing statistics, polls, and opinion survey data conducted in 68 countries. Includes single-nation and multinational surveys; indexes by topic and countries, along with bibliography of sources. Published from 1978-1999. Orono Reference HM 261 I38

The ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Direct online access to over 25 years of public opinion survey data, collected by major survey research firms in Canada.

Polling of the public’s opinions, knowledge, and experiences with health issues in the U.S.

U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to statistics from popular data resources including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and others.

Population, income, poverty, employment, etc.

Google's search interface that provides access to approximately 25 million different publicly available data sets.

Population data going back to the 19th century.

From the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education.

Demographics, geography, business.

Find data about UMaine, including graduation & retention rates, demographics, enrollment information, degrees conferred, and more.