Subject Guides: New Media/Intermedia: Databases, Journals, & Videos

Databases

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to publications from the Association for Computing Machinery. Requires login with UMaine account.
Art Full Text
Indexes articles from 1984 to the present that relate to art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, and more. Requires login with UMaine account.
Bibliography of the History of Art
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. If you find journal articles of interest, check the library catalog to see if we have the journals from the years of interest.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Contains journals focusing on various aspects of communication. Requires login with UMaine account.
IEEE Explore
Indexes material published by the IEEE and IET, covering many areas of computer science and engineering. Requires login with UMaine account.
International Bibliography of Art
Picking up where Bibliography of the History of Art leaves off, visual arts in all media are covered: architectural history, painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques.
JSTOR
Provides access to a digital library containing journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Requires login with UMaine account.
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
Indexes articles about library and information science. Requires login with UMaine account.
Project MUSE
Provides full-text access to scholarly articles about visual arts, literature, and performing arts, among others. Requires login with UMaine account.

Google Scholar (UM)
Locations: UM
Remote Access: Available

Selection of Scholarly Journals

Educational Videos and Video Tutorials

Academic Video Online
Educational, streaming videos, including a range of software tutorials.
LearningExpress Library
An interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. Tutorials include Microsoft and Adobe products.