New Media/Intermedia

Provides access to nearly a million images; part of JSTOR. Requires login with UMaine account.

For more information about museum collections, click on the "Collections" menu at the top center of the page.

This code of best practices, created by the College Art Association, provides information about and potential approaches to fair use and copyright in the area of visual arts specifically.

This free, online database consists of searchable images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

Searchable collection of LGBT-themed television and print ads.

Advertising archive, featuring creative work from across the globe. Includes print, tv, radio, among other categories.

British and American advertisements, spanning the years from the mid 19th Century to the present day.

EAA presents over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Ads run from 1850-1920.

The Vogue Archive is a complete searchable archive of the magazine American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the most recent month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Includes photography, fine art, prints, postcards, other ephemera, and over 600 digitized political cartoons produced in the United States between 1764 and 1876.

Growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists.

Open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures.

High quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the worlds major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.

Beautiful, FREE illustrations of black people for your next digital project.

Find images that you can use and remix for free, across several open archives.

Includes images and documents from 50 European institutions in 34 different countries. Most are either in the public domain or available for use under a Creative Commons license. You can limit your search to free, re-usable images.

Flickr, a photo posting and sharing website, hosts this collection of photos in the public domain or with Creative Commons licenses, allowing other users to use these photos according to the license the creator has chosen.

Stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models. Free to use, with attribution. Not to be used for commercial purposes.

Searchable images from content on the web. Can limit results to images with Creative Commons licenses (i.e., free to use under certain circumstances). On the search results page select "Tools," and then pick from the options under the "Usage rights" dropdown menu.

A free library of images celebrating women’s lives and their work in 11 countries around the world. Free for noncommercial use.

Free, high quality stock photos. Pexels also provides free stock video searches as well!

Free, online stock photos.

Over 1.6 million high quality photos, illustrations, vector graphics, and videos. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.

An image search engine that lets you search photos based on camera settings, to facilitate experimentation and study of photography.

Many of the images are in the public domain and not under copyright.

Free online stock photos. No attribution needed.

A collection of over 36 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Stock photos that address gap in visible representations of women of color engaging in technical tasks. Free to use with attribution.