Skip to main content
Banner Image

Self-Archiving in Digital Commons: Why Archive

The purpose of DigitalCommons@UMaine is to provide long-term access to the scholarly and creative output of University of Maine faculty and staff. Consult this suite of tutorial pages to learn how to archive your work.

Why archive in Digital Commons?

Self-archiving in the University of Maine's green open access, institutional repository helps faculty, students, and staff to manage their professional reputations, increase scholarly impact, and create a long-term legacy for their academic contributions. As of 2012, Federal agencies began requiring grant recipients to archive research data and publish findings in public archives to facilitate results validation and support work by other researchers. For additional perspective on this, view the embedded National Institutes of Health Big Data to Knowledge video, below.  

NIH Big Data To Knowledge: Sharing Big Data

Archiving in DigitalCommons@UMaine

Members of the UMaine community may self-archive full-text documents, images, multimedia content, and datasets at no cost in DigitalCommons@UMaine. 

For some published works, permission to post full text content must be secured in writing. Please refer to our information regarding Copyright Retention and the process of checking for and obtaining Copyright Permissions. If you have questions about copyright permissions, please contact your Subject Specialist for assistance.

What is the Scope of the Institutional Repository?

DigitalCommons@UMaine showcases the intellectual and creative output of University of Maine faculty, students, and staff. It houses University of Maine institutional archives and publications and primary research materials from Fogler Library Special Collections. 

What kinds of work can be uploaded to DigitalCommons@UMaine?

  • Electronic versions of full text scholarly works
  • Published, peer-reviewed literature
  • Supplemental materials
  • Author's accepted manuscripts
  • Working papers
  • Book chapters
  • Conference papers and posters
  • Creative works (art, music, photography, mixed media)
  • Patents
  • Classroom resources (lecture materials and syllabi)
  • Unpublished scholarly and creative works
  • Unpublished studies, interviews, and technical reports
  • Digital-born files
  • Scanned electronic files

For specific examples of faculty contributions to Digital Commons, visit the Resources tab.

Archiving Big Data

DigitalCommons@UMaine allows researchers to upload digital files up to 2GB in size. The repository accepts native file types from Excel spreadsheets documenting datasets to files for 3D printable objects, computer code, and audio files. 

Collection Policy

Digital Commons Logo

DigitalCommons@UMaine showcases the intellectual and creative output of the University of Maine. The Digital Commons Collection Policy provides guidance about the scope and criteria for submissions.

Contact

Kimberly Sawtelle's picture
Kimberly Sawtelle
Contact:
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
Phone: 207-581-1692
Fax: 207-581-1653
Website

Library Hours

Regular Building Hours

Monday – Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

7:30 am – Midnight
7:30 am – 10 pm
10 am – 6 pm
10 am – Midnight

More information on our hours page.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.