URSUS, Fogler's shared library catalog (along with other UMaine campuses and area libraries), points to things like e/books, serials, government information, maps, films, dissertations, and theses. Keep in mind:
URSUS is a definitive source for items we have access to, both in Fogler and in the other UMaine and area libraries that participate in URSUS;
you can limit your search to University of Maine if you want to only see materials you have immediate access to;
you cannot search for articles in URSUS (you can search for journals and databases, but not article titles themselves).
Fogler's Subject Databases (click on the dropdown arrow to find databases in your subject area) point to things like full text and abstracts of journal articles, news articles, and magazine articles, as well as descriptions of books, dissertations, and theses related to specific fields of study. Keep in mind:
full text is not always included, but the Article Linker button should help if we have access elsewhere in the library's electronic collections;
these databases won't link to e/books in our collections so if you find an interesting book, check URSUS (linked above) to see if we have a copy!
Google Scholar includes things like journal articles, e/books, government information, white papers, patents, dissertations, and theses. Keep in mind:
you'll likely want to set up Library Links in Google Scholar so that you get full-text access to journal articles available through our subscriptions (and avoid paywalls);
there is a wide variety of material and it's not only interdisciplinary, but results come from many different sources, like publishers, institutional repositories, government agencies, and sometimes news sources;
it's not always scholarly despite its name (as mentioned above, sometimes popular news articles show up in results).
