Subject Guides: Anthropology: Religious Studies

Potential Resources

Sample subject terms to use in LibrarySearch:

Animism
Anthropology of religion
Atheism
Christianity and culture
Ethnic relations -- history
Ethnology -- Religious aspects
Philosophical anthropology
Religion, prehistoric
Theological anthropology

Selection of Reference Books in Anthropology:

This is a selection of journals related to religious studies. To search for additional journals of interest, try the a Journal Search in LibrarySearch .

Disciplinary Search Options

Anthropology Plus
Covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research
eHRAF World Cultures
Collection of documents about cultures from all over the world
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Oxford Bibliographies
A collection of disciplined-based subject modules in which leading scholars recommend and summarize the most important and significant sources in each subject. Topics include Buddhism, Hindu Studies, and Islamic Studies.
Sociology Collection
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies.

RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material is compiled from periodicals and collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

University of Maine Dissertations & Theses
Provides access to a large number of the UMaine's electronic theses & dissertations, primarily from 1996-present, but with scattered theses prior to this time. Where there is an abstract only, you will find the print dissertation in UMaine's Special Collections Department.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable citations of dissertations, many with full text available.

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Access nearly 600,000 European theses and dissertations.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of materials held by over 72,000 libraries worldwide; includes citations of dissertations and theses.

Religious Studies Web Guide (University of Calgary)
According to the site: This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library.
Library of Congress Online Exhibitions
Online presentations of thematic exhibits drawing from the richly diverse collections at the Library of Congress, including books, archival documents, maps, musical scores, plays, photographs, films and sound recordings. Religiously-themed exhibits abound.
Nines
NINES aims to gather the best scholarly resources on the nineteenth century and make them fully searchable. The NINES website includes a searchable database of digital scholarship and a listing of websites related to nineteenth-century materials. There is a Religion genre and a Religious Studies disciplinary section, but you can also search for specific people, places, faiths, and terms of interest (e.g., sermons).
Buddhist Digital Archives (Buddhist Digital Resource Center)
An online repository of Buddhist literature.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, including the University of Maine. The digital repository includes public domain and in-copyright content in a number of languages. Most are digitized versions of books and serials that originally appeared in print. Some content may be viewed in full depending on copyright restrictions. Some content may be full text searched depending on OCR quality for the language and typeface (or script).