Subject Guides: Anthropology: Anthropology (General)

Potential Resources

Sample subject terms to use in LibrarySearch. Click on Advanced Search, and change "Any Field" to Subject. Limit the "Material Type" on the right to Books.

Anthropology
Anthropology Fieldwork
Anthropology History
Anthropology Methodology
Anthropology Prehistoric
Anthropologists' writings
Ethnology
Evolution (Biology)
Material culture
Feminist anthropology
Paleolithic period
Philosophical anthropology

Selection of Reference Books in Anthropology:

Fogler Library subscribes to a wide variety of journals in the realm of anthropology and related disciplines. Below you'll find links to a selection of relevant journals. You can also conduct a journal search in LibrarySearch for titles of interest, or search for subjects like Anthropology--Periodicals or Ethnology--Periodicals.

Anthropology Plus
Combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases. Covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Indexing covers U.S. and world journals from the early 19th century to present.
America: History and Life
Index to research on the history of the United States and Canada
CogPrints Electronic Archive
Electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Anthropology, Biology, Medicine, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
eHRAF World Cultures
Primary documents about cultures and societies from all over the world.
Environment Complete
Article literature in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
GreenFile
Literature addressing all aspects of human impacts on the environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
International literature in linguistics and related disciplines.
PsycINFO
Scholarly literature on the psychological dimensions of human behavior.
Sociology Collection
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes a large range of literature from Anthropology and related disciplines.

Databases A-Z
Not quite finding what you're looking for? Find a full list of Fogler Library's databases.

University of Maine Dissertations & Theses
Provides access to a large number of the UMaine's electronic theses & dissertations, primarily from 1996-present, but with scattered theses prior to this time. Where there is an abstract only, you will find the print dissertation in UMaine's Special Collections Department.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable citations of dissertations, many with full text available.

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Access nearly 600,000 European theses and dissertations.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of materials held by over 72,000 libraries worldwide; includes citations of dissertations and theses. Can place an ILL request within WorldCat results.