Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

News Research: Historical National & International News

Research resources for the study of news and the popular the press.

Example of a historical news story from the NY Times

Historical News Magazines

Historical Newspaper Databases available through Fogler

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full runs of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; advertisements and illustrations included.

British Newspapers,1780-1950
Features new content and sources such as the Sheffield Daily Telegraph, Leeds Intelligence, Evening Telegraph, Yorkshire Gazette, Nottingham Evening Post, Newcastle Guardian and Tyne Mercury.

Early American Newspapers
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

New York Times Archives (1851-4 years ago)
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries.

Times Digital Archive
The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785 - 5 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article facsimiles (PDF) from the newspaper. This resource includes articles, reviews, advertising and classified ads, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries and birth and death notices. Does not include the Sunday edition.

Historical Newspaper Databases on the Open Web

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.