From University of California, Berkeley. With the exception of objects and media for which the Museum does not hold copyright, this work is licensed under an Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike Creative Commons License. By downloading any information or images from this site, you agree to the terms of that license.
Thousands of images of artworks are available for download, without charge, under the Getty's Open Content Program. Look for the Download button under the image.
Includes istorical portraits, examples of different art movements, images of objects from numerous cultures, and illustrations that span the Museum's collection.
Free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
A searchable database of images from 14 art institutions, including the Frick, the National Gallery of Art and the Yale Center for British Art. Ultimately, the database will hold 22 million images, 17 million of them artworks and the rest supplemental material. The database is currently in beta form.
100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements, freely available from the Wellcome Library's visual collections.
Selection of Advertisement Databases that Include Images
This free, online database consists of searchable images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
EAA presents over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Ads run from 1850-1920.
A complete searchable archive of the magazine American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the most recent month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Includes photography, fine art, prints, postcards, other ephemera, and over 600 digitized political cartoons produced in the United States between 1764 and 1876.
High quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the worlds major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.
Includes images and documents from 50 European institutions in 34 different countries. Most are either in the public domain or available for use under a Creative Commons license. You can limit your search to free, re-usable images.
Searchable images from content on the web. Can limit results to images with Creative Commons licenses (i.e., free to use under certain circumstances). On the search results page select "Tools," and then pick from the options under the "Usage rights" dropdown menu.
High resolution photos of black and brown people. Free to download, modify, share, distribute, or use without attribution (although attribution is appreciated).
