Subject Guides: New Media/Intermedia: Resources for Faculty at Fogler Library

New Catalog Under Construction: IMPORTANT INFORMATION

The library is migrating to a new catalog and interface! This is an ongoing process that will begin June 2024. Please bear with us as we work through this transitional period. Many of you may link to items or records in your classes, such as articles, books, and journals that are housed at the library.There is the possibility that certain old links will no longer work under the new system.

WHAT WILL BE AFFECTED:

Links to book records within the old catalog, rather than full-text ebooks themselves
Links to records in within OneSearch, rather than the full text items themselves

WHAT WILL NOT BE AFFECTED:

Most full-text articles and journals linking directly to a database (ScienceDirect, JSTOR, etc.)
Most ebooks if you are linking to direct chapters or full-text volumes from the vendor (JSTOR, Ebsco, Proquest, etc.)

The migration may result in defunct links in edge cases, but for the most part the above two designations should hold true.

HOW DO I KNOW IF A LINK MIGHT BE IMPACTED?

Step 1: Look at the prefix of the link. Does it begin with one of the following?
- https://ursus.maine.edu
- https://go.exlibris.link/9B3CZ0vY
Step 2: If it does not, no more steps are needed. If it does, there is a potential fix. See below

EXAMPLE OF A QUICKFIX:

An old link such as:

http://ursus.maine.edu/record=b1840604~S1

could be reformatted to something similar to:

https://maine.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01MAINE_INST:UM&offset=0&query=any,contains,b1840604*

Take note of the location and adjustment to the bib record (b184…etc).

THIS IS ONE POSSIBLE FIX, BUT OUR FIRST RECOMMENDATION IS ALWAYS TO REACH OUT TO A LIBRARIAN IN YOUR SUBJECT AREA TO HELP YOU ASSESS AND RESOLVE THE ISSUE. If you are not sure who your subject librarian is, consult this page.

Welcome to Fogler! Meet Your Subject Specialist Librarian.

Subject Specialist Librarians by Department

Every department has a subject specialist librarian who is available for one-on-one research assistance as well as individual class instruction. Use the link above to find your subject librarian. We look forward to working with you!

Faculty and staff members who are traveling outside the United States may wish to contact their subject librarian ahead of time to ensure access to library resources.

Classroom Instruction

How to Find Permalinks for Your Brightspace Page
This tutorial demonstrates how to find permalinks for materials available through library subscriptions (journal articles, etc.) so you can use the links on your Brightspace course page.
Submitting Reserve Material
Overview and instructions on submitting print and electronic materials to place on reserve for your class.
Library Instruction for your Classes
Librarians regularly collaborate with faculty to address research needs of a given assignment or class project. Instruction can take place in the library, in your classroom, via web conferencing software, and/or through online course guides. Contact your subject librarian to set up a session. We look forward to working with you!
Information Literacy: First Year Guidelines
The Reference & Information Literacy Department has developed Information Literacy Guidelines for First Year Students. Take a look, and check with your Subject Librarian for more information.
Open Educational Resources
This guide provides information about online resources that are free and open and may be used by faculty members to help students manage the cost of college (textbooks, journal articles, etc.).
Guide to Copyright for Instructors
Includes information on copyright basics, types of legal rights and licenses, fair use exceptions, and more.
Find Films to Use in your Course
See this guide for various film options that the Library provides access to. You may find additional films in SWANK Digital Campus, a selection of box office hits permitted for public performance in non-theatrical markets.
Create Clips with Academic Video Online Premium
Academic Video Online Premium (AVOP) is a database containing films you might wish to use in your classes. If you would like to create a shorter clip for use in your class or your Blackboard site, follow these instructions:
1) Go to AVOP .
2) Create a user account (this is free) or sign in to your user account.
3) Find a video of interest, open it, and click on "Clips" at the top of the page.
4) On the "Clips" page, click on the red box that says, "Create New."
5) Slide the left and right markers to the time frame of interest, give the clip a name, and click "Save Changes."
NOTE: You will need to remember which video you accessed to make clips because your saved clip will reside in the "Clips" section of that video.
NOTE: In order to embed the clip in a course or elsewhere, the clip will need to be labeled "public" or "institutional." "Private" clips cannot be shared.

To embed, or link to, an entire video (and not a clip you have created), you do not have to create or log into a personal account in AVOP. Instead, open AVOP, find the video of interest, open the video, and click on Embed/Link to get the link or embed code for future use.

Research & Publishing Support

Altmetrics
Altmetrics is the use of alternative, or nontraditional, measurements to better understand the extent of a work's scholarly impact. Altmetrics serve as a complement to traditional metrics (e.g., citation counts) by incorporating statistics regarding usage, capture, and mentions of scholarly works in online environments. Contact your subject librarian to learn more.
DigitalCommons@UMaine: Our Institutional Repository
Preserve and provide free and open access to your research.
Finding Funding
Looking for funding opportunities to support research, grants-related projects, and nonprofit programs and services? We have a wide range of resources, from proposal writing materials to powerful funding databases like Pivot and Foundation Directory Online.
How to Set Up Library Links in Google Scholar
This guide has instructions about how to set up your Google Scholar account so that it gives you access to material subscribed to by Fogler Library.
Interlibrary Loan
The Fogler Library Interlibrary Loan Department works with other libraries and information providers to obtain research materials not held in Fogler Library, or that are unavailable for request through URSUS or MaineCat.
Library Research Guides
Find subject and course guides created by librarians and tailored to specific types of research or assignments.
Locating Who Cited Your Work
Resources for citation analysis. Contact your subject librarian for additional assistance.
Open Access Publishing
Interested in learning about open access publishing? Use this guide to learn more about relevant tools and resources, and to find possible publication venues.
Recommend an Item for Purchase
Contact your subject librarian directly with any purchase requests (books, journals, databases, DVDs, microfilm, etc.), or click the link above.
URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet
This link has instructions about how to bookmark the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet in your web browser. When you are browsing the web through non-library resources and come across material behind a paywall, clicking on the Bookmarklet will reload the page through a University of Maine proxy server, allowing you full access to material Fogler Library subscribes to in most cases.

Specialized Departments of Interest

Special Collections
Researching anything related to the state of Maine or the university? Special Collections has you covered with resources and expert staff to assist you.
Government Publications
Fogler Library is a regional depository for U.S. Government publications. We are a selective depository for Canadian materials, and we have United Nations documents. For government documents assistance, you can email gregory.t.curtis@maine.edu.

Resources of Interest

Indexes and Databases
An A-Z list of Fogler's databases.
Electronic Journals
Search for ejournals by title or topic.
Database Trials
We welcome your feedback on trial databases. Your input assists us with purchase decisions.
Library Site Map
Not finding what you're looking for on the Fogler website? Browse this A-Z list or search for information of interest. If you still don't find what you need, your subject librarian will be happy to assist.
Recent Acquisitions
Peruse lists of items added to Fogler Library during the last month for which we have data available. Items are arranged by disciplinary areas.
How do I?
Have lingering questions about our services or resources? Our "How do I?" page is a good place to start.

Library Hours

Regular Building Hours (fall and spring semesters)

Mon – Thur, 7:30 am – Midnight
Fri, 7:30 am – 10 pm
Sat, 10 am – 6 pm
Sun, 10 am – Midnight

More information on both holiday and summer hours is on our hours page.

URSUS Catalog Search

Access Your Library Account

Log into Your URSUS Account
See what you have checked out or on hold, and renew items. You will need your MaineCard to log in.

Looking for the Faculty/Staff Profile Database?

Faculty/Staff Profile Database
Maintained by the Office of Research Administration to assist faculty with data-entry related to university service, research, participation, and other activities.

Events and Display Cases

Reserve Spaces for Events and Displays
At certain times of the year, the library is able to offer some of its rooms and spaces to UMaine departments, organizations, or offices to host workshops, events, or informational sessions.

Additionally, Fogler Library has several display cases throughout the building, some of which are available to departments, groups, and individuals at UMaine to display exhibits of public interest.

Click the link above to find out more!