Subject Guides: News Research: Current National & International News

General Interest

Newspaper Source Plus
Full text access to over 1000 U.S. and international newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream
Search current full text news content, back to the 1980's. Includes The Wall Street Journal
Ethnic NewsWatch
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, 1990-present (varies by title). Can filter results to news only.
LGBTQ+ Source
Provides indexing and abstracts for news sources and periodicals. Includes full text access to many regional newspapers. Can filter results to news only.
Nexis Uni
Full-text documents from over 5,900 sources, including national and regional newspapers, legal news, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language sources. Choose News at the top of the page before beginning your search.

New York Times UMaine Access Pass
To create and activate your New York Times account, funded by Fogler Library for University of Maine users: 1) While connected to the UMaine network, visit AccessNYT.com. 2) Create your NYTimes.com account, using your UMaine email address. 3) Download your free NYT mobile app. Once you have created a personal account while logged in to UMaine, you may use it to log on via browser or app from any location.
ProPublica
Independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Freely available online.

Locate newspaper titles throughout the world using Newspaper Map

ProQuest One Business
Among other types of sources, this database includes the full text of news articles from The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, Financial Times, Les Echos, and Australian Financial Review. You can limit your search to news only.